Rocky Road (gluten free)

Posted by Adeline Vining on

Rocky Road, Tiffin, Fridge Cake - call it what you will, everyone makes their own version, which is one of the reasons it's such an awesome treat to make at home. You can add in whatever you like, and take out the things you don't. The key, I think, is balance - getting the optimum level of sweetness, crunch and soft chewiness makes for a perfect rocky road.

Want to know our secret for the softest chocolate? Don't use golden syrup - we use Coconut Blossom Syrup, it has a lot more flavour, and adds a slight taste of malt.





And, of course, the chocolate you use is crucial. We're massive fans of Callebaut chocolate - you can't find it in retail sizes though, so if you're after some to use at home, we sell it by the 100g in store or online.

So, to make 16 good sized pieces of rocky road, you'll need:

A small brownie pan, lined with greaseproof paper.
125g unsalted butter
125g coconut blossom syrup
200g milk chocolate chips
200g dark chocolate chips
100g marshmallows
200g (gluten free) digestive biscuits
200g dark flame raisins
(gluten free) sprinkles to decorate


Put about an inch of water in a saucepan on the lowest heat of your hob, and place a large heatproof bowl over the top. Make sure the bowl doesn't touch the water, or you'll burn the chocolate.

Pop the butter into the bowl and let it melt slowly. Once it's completely melted, stir in the coconut blossom syrup and the chocolate chips. Keep stirring, and don't walk away from the bowl. Chocolate has a nasty habit of burning as soon as you turn your back on it and do something else.

Once everything is melted and mixed together, remove from the heat and fold in your biscuits, mallows and raisins.

Pour this into your lined pan, scatter on the sprinkles, and refrigerate for at least 2 hours to set.

This will keep for a good week in the fridge.


Notes :

We make ours gluten free, but you can use any biscuits in your version.

If you want to make this vegan, use a vegan butter (we like vitalite and BLOCK if you're not allergic to nuts) use vegan chocolates and marshmallows too - check the sprinkles, lots of sprinkles aren't vegan....